Gift cards I wish away

Sometime in 2010 we were given a gift card. It was a lovely, thoughtful gift of $50 to spend at a number of outlets that we frequent regularly. I speak of BWS and Dan Murphys.

The trouble is we didn’t look after our gift card properly. This is because we put it in very safe place we couldn’t possibly forgot.

It got lost in the time space continuum that is the corkboard, and got covered with bills and invitations to divorce parties. Until this week when during a clean-up binge (very sorry, won’t happen again), it got rediscovered. Yea, a biblical moment had arrived. What is lost now is found.

The beautiful piece of plastic and its cardboard backing didn’t say when it expired but did helpfully direct me to a website where I could check my WISHcard status.

That’s when it started to go, not so much pear-shaped, but more like turd-shaped.

The WISHcard website asked for the card number. There were three different numbers on the card that could have been the card number but in the end only the big one worked.

So I typed in:

8239 1121 7081 6880 21025 73 then scratched the back in manner of scratchie card to enter my pin only to discover that it expired in January 2011.

OK, I should not have put the card in a safe place I’d never forgot. It should have bypassed the corkboard and gone straight to the wallet. But it didn’t.

The good news for WISHcard is that Dan Murphys will not be out-of-pocket because after an event like that I am in need of a drink, even if I have to pay for it myself.

The thing that peeves me the most is the sheer tedium of the system. What was wrong with the bad ole good days when it was a gift certificate with a number and an expiry date and you could view at a glance when your time was up. We didn’t have to log onto a website enter a 24.5 digit code and then scratch the back in manner of Scratch Me Happy to find a password to type in.

Give me the gift of a simple life.

Oh, and Happy New Year.

One Comment

  1. I was recommended this website by my cousin.
    I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my trouble. You’re amazing!
    Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

